Mr Finlayson

Education and Technology

Myst – the interactive story – one – a question

Posted by alexfinlayson on June 18, 2009

More thorough blogs will follow but for now I have a question – I would love your input, thank you.

I gave the guys the format for the story (page 13 of the plan) and talked them through each section and what would be written.

I put them into pairs (with a great deal of thought on the mix and the plot) and they cracked on with it – we did first drafts, edits, second drafts, teacher mark, typed draft, edit – final draft.

Here’s my question – before we start to play around with the text and the hyperlinks to create the interactive story – how thoroughly would you mark / correct / change the work if it was your class? My gut tells me to leave it, I’ve already checked each one twice. However, I have spotted some glaring errors in their ‘final’ drafts. Would it be an accurate reflection of their work if I guided further corrections? How much is too much?

I’d like to ask the audience please…

2 Responses to “Myst – the interactive story – one – a question”

  1. jennylu said

    Personally, I think it’s your responsibility as a teacher to guide the students to ensure their work is of the highest quality. If, after two edits, they still haven’t been able to identify where errors are then they need you to assist them. This is the teachable moment.

    • alexfinlayson said

      I do agree Jenny but as we are publishing our story on the web when we are done I do not want it to appear teacher-written. You know when you get homework handed to you that is clearly the work of the parents – you can’t assess that. I’m just voicing my concern of how much is too much. I can teach these guys where the errors lay and how to rectify them but with my class it does border close to dictation because of the ability level. I guess I’m just venting because I do have a very LA group and I’m frustrated that I can’t seem to bridge the gap between the great oral work they do and their sub-par written work. Thank you very much for your comment – I’m going to do a peer marking exercise on Monday and see how we go

Leave a Reply

 
