Mr Finlayson

Education and Technology

Myst Literacy Unit Plan

Posted by alexfinlayson on June 15, 2009

When I started out on this little Myst adventure I wasted a long, long time trawling the internet searching for ready-made plans that I could *ahem* ‘liberate’ ideas from… I had no success so eventually I just sucked it up and wrote one from scratch…
Now, my plans (much to the delight of my boss) usually look like this…

Typical Plan

So in my search for nice teacher-karma (making up for everything I’ve *ahem* ‘liberated’) I decided to tidy the plan up – present it properly and upload it onto the web so anyone in a similar position has a good jumping off point.
It’s not perfect,  I deleted a lot that was specific to individuals (turned out that was a lot) and it probably won’t be thorough enough but there are a lot of teaching ideas to work with and a few assessment pieces.
You can find it in my Myst page or download directly from here:

Myst Literacy Unit Plan

Credit must go to Graham at Adventure Game Walkthroughs for his excellent guide to realMyst.
 
7 Responses to “Myst Literacy Unit Plan”

  1. kvnmclaughlin said

    I too have been meaning to put together a plan for my use of Myst V in Literacy. I have what can only be described as a collection of jotted ideas and suggestions that take shape throughout the playing of the game. For me they work but I know I must sit down and create a workable plan as you have done. And may I say it’s a wonderful plan. I like the way you have woven the walkthrough into the plan and that your plan serves as a guide to help solve the game. I’ll look forward to using it.

  2. Denise Juler said

    Thanks for this wonderful plan. I have been using Myst with my classes for the last 2 years. Now as a Curriculum Support teacher I am still a great fan. This will help me spread the word of the value for improving kid’s writing and increasing engagement in the whole writing process. The great value for me too is that I am in Brisbane and this is Queensland curriculum based. Two features warpped up in one. Thanks again. Great work.

  3. Thanks for this wonderful plan. I have been using Myst with my classes for the last 2 years. Now as a Curriculum Support teacher I am still a great fan. This will help me spread the word of the value for improving kid’s writing and increasing engagement in the whole writing process. The great value for me too is that I am in Brisbane and this is Queensland curriculum based. Two features warpped up in one. Thanks again. Great work.
    Sorry, forgot to add great post! Can’t wait to see your next post!

    • alexfinlayson said

      Thank you very much Denise – Myst is all very new to me but I am enjoying it greatly, as are my guys. I’m really interested to know what you’ve been doing – 2 years you say? Must have some great ideas and experiences?
      All the best
      Al

  4. Thanks so much for the Myst unit. I used Myst last year with my year 4/5 class and they loved it. I have introduced it to my class this year, and they have nagged me ever since. I was planning on writing a unit for next term and am glad that I was able to look at yours as I am in Brisbane. I can’t wait to see what you do next!

  5. Nice one Alex
    I like the fact that you have included the walkthroughs
    It is always good to see ideas of planning but, as you said, it is also good to put them aside and experiment
    YOUR experimenting looks like it has been fun
    All the best
    Tim
    (Tim Rylands)
    http://www.timrylands.com

    • alexfinlayson said

      Holy crap! Praise from Caesar! Thanks Tim. The experimental side was the most fun I have to say. We’re just about to start our interactive story so will be quite telling on how effective the whole thing has been. Fingers crossed!
      Thanks again,
      Al

Leave a Reply

 
